Shots, Pills, Vaccines – Oh my!

When you first decide to plan an international trip you don’t realize how much planning actually goes into making sure everything is all squared away.

because i google EVERYTHING to make sure i’m not dying

Christina and I are in the final stages of planning our Thailand trip and recently went to the health department for any vaccines needed. SUPER IMPORTANT! – Prevention is extremely important especially when traveling to countries in Asia & Africa. After tons of research and multiple phone calls to my doctor we decided to move forward with getting vaccinated for Hepatitis A & Typhoid (Our childhood vaccines covered everything else).

  • Hepatitis A protects your liver and helps to prevent stomach issues with contaminated food/water.
  • Typhoid also protects you from getting sick from contaminated food/water as well as prevents infection (typhoid fever) caused by the bacteria salmonella typhi. Infections can be spread by ingesting it or by touching someone infected.

Take them seriously when they tell you about side effects!

My nurse was wonderful and very informative during the process. I took the Hepatitis A as a shot in the arm and went with the Typhoid live pills over the shot. The pills last up to 5 years in your system vs. 2 years with the shot. The pills were also $20 cheeper than the shot. My arm was sore for 2 days after the Hepatitis A shot but the side effects from the Typhoid pills have been WAY worse.

You get a series of 4 live pills that are to be kept in the fridge. You take them every other day on an empty stomach with a full glass of water. I have been noticing strange pains in my stomach lately but didn’t put 2 and 2 together until this morning. Last night I took my 3rd Typhoid pill and today I am experiencing extreme stomach pains. Pains that are taking my breath away and are comparable to period cramps but a little worse and higher up in my abdomen. The pain comes in waves and last for 10-20 minutes at a time it also seems like it only happens after I eat. After googling it, because i google EVERYTHING to make sure i’m not dying, I discovered that the most common side effect of Typhoid (4.8% of people experience it) is stomach pain. Now I have my answer. My only concern it that it has gotten worse over time and I still have one more pill to take tomorrow. If things continue to get worse I’ll be calling my doctor.

Moral of the store: Trust what the doctors and nurses say about side effects.

We are a little over 2 weeks away from our departure date!

xoxo Jayme

*We considered taking the Malaria pill but after research and consulting with a doctor we decided we wont be needing them.

1 thought on “Shots, Pills, Vaccines – Oh my!”

Leave a Reply

